S.T.O.P

I don’t particularly like to stop when I’m going somewhere. It’s not that I’m in a frantic rush all the time, but it interrupts the flow. If it weren’t illegal I’d install one of those devices that ambulances use to make the lights to green.

But even that won’t help with stop signs. So one day I decided to turn it into an acrostic that would remind me of something helpful. I have a few now.

4555-stop-hammertime-funny-warning-and-roadsigns-wallpaper-316x361

One related to long term goals is this:

S = Strategy: Make sure you have a strategy for getting where you want to go. Don’t just let life happen to you. If you don’t have a plan for your day, others will happily use your time for their purposes.

T = Timing: Between where you are and where you want to be, look for the best timing to make the next move. Achieving goals is sometimes like crossing a busy street. Wait, wait, wait, now!

O = Opportunity: When you’re least expecting it an opportunity can present itself that you just can’t pass up. I leave myself open enough to alter course. It’s like the feeling you get when a parking spot opens up in front of you when you’re sent to Costco the day before Thanksgiving.

P = Patience: This is self explanatory but I remind myself of it all the time. We totally overestimate how much we can get done in the short term. I need to think as much about the long term culture as the short term performance.

 

Leave a Reply

